2019 Food Allergy Safe Candies for Halloween
Halloween is coming fast. The festive holiday can pose a great risk for kids with food allergies. Luckily, there is the Teal Pumpkin Project, which helps with making Halloween easier. With new candy being produced all the time, it’s hard to know exactly what candy is safe for your child.
The list we have collected are mostly Big 8 allergen free. Please always be sure to double check ingredients before purchasing! Ingredients on products can be changed at any time.
Do you like to taste the rainbow? Luckily the rainbow is allergen free! Skittles are free from dairy, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, soy, and wheat.
DumDums website proudly states that they are “free of the top common allergens. The ingredients, as well as the processing aids (such as release lubricants), do not contain any peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, milk, fish, shellfish, wheat, or gluten. These products are processed on dedicated lines.” To read more about DumDums allergen information, check out their website.
Saf T Pops
These lollipops are free of most common allergies like gluten, wheat, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish. Some of their products may contain trace amounts of soy oil.
What does Swedish Fish taste like to you? Many have guessed lingonberry, cherry, or even fruit punch. No matter the flavor, Swedish Fish are a tasty allergen safe treat. According to Allergen Inside, Swedish Fish are dairy, egg, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soy free.
Since 1949, these sweet treats have been delighting children of all ages. On their website, Smarties is free from milk, egg, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy. They do warn that they sell their products to “re-baggers” that may have allergens in their factories. If you have corn allergies, they are present in smarties.
What is your favorite flavor of jelly bean? Jelly Belly Jelly Beans are gluten, peanut and dairy free. They also do not contain gelatin. Jelly Belly once made a Peanut Butter flavor, but discontinued it in order to make their factory peanut free.
Ever since the creation of Nerds, the boxes have always had two flavors inside. According to Allergen Inside, Nerds are dairy, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts and soy free.
Ring Pops were created by Frank Richards who wanted to kick his daughter’s habit of sucking her thumb. Now, they are a popular candy to wear and eat! These fashionable candies are free of milk, soy, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, gluten, shellfish, and fish.
Sour Patch Kids
From sour to sweet, Sour Patch Kids are a favorite treat of children of all ages. According to Allergen Inside, Sour Patch Kids is dairy, egg, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, soy, and wheat free. However, one product made by Sour Patch kids either contains or has been processed in a facility with soy.
Mike and Ike
From inventing the machine that inserted sticks into lollipops to candy, Just Born has a rich history in candy. JustBorn’s website suggests that customers call their Consumer Relations Team if they have concerns about cross contamination. Mike and Ikes are dairy, egg, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, soy and wheat free.
Dots once started as a black licorice treat that turned into the fruit flavors that it is today. These sweet treats are tree nuts, wheat, and peanut free according to their website. Taking a deeper dive into their ingredients, Dots are also dairy, egg, fish, shellfish and soy free.
If you love licorice, Red Vines are a great allergy safe candy! They are dairy, egg, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts and soy free. Be warned, Red Vines are either processed in a facility or contain wheat.
What candies do you get for Halloween? How do you protect your children from eating their allergen on Halloween? Comment below and share your stories with us! Do you want your story featured in our blog? Submit your story to our Share Your Story Page! Want to help support My Kid’s Food Allergies? Check our products made by us, for you! We even have teal pumpkin shirts ready for Halloween!